Sichelburg Castle in Falzes captivates its visitors with its tower-like form and small oriels.
Image gallery: Sichelburg Castle
The name Sichelburg (Sichel means sickle in German language) derives from the emblem of the Platzzoller family, owner of the castle in the 14th and 15th century, which shows two sickles. Since 1968 it is also the official emblem of the municipality of Falzes. Sichelburg Castle is located in the upper village of Falzes and is characterized by a tower-like form and many small oriels.
Sichelburg Castle is believed to have been the main seat of the Lords of Falzes, who owned the castle until 1356. The Lords of Mörl called it their own from 1524 until 1761. The Mayrhofen family followed - the emblem of this noble family can still be seen above the round bow entrance in the surrounding castle wall.
After buying the castle in 1999/2000, the municipality of Falzes renovated the building. During this works, a Gothic fresco frieze and loopholes came to light. Nowadays, the castle houses a restaurant with wine bar and conference room.
accessible only for guests of the house