RS villnoess plose
RS villnoess plose

Luson Mountains

Between the Val Pusteria, Val Badia and Valle Isarco valleys, the Luson Mountains with their relatively low peaks are located

Between the Valle Isarco, the Val Pusteria and the Val Badia valleys, among others in the municipalities of Chines and S. Lorenzo di Sebato, the Luson Mountains can be found. They are a subgroup of the Dolomites with quite low summits. Well-known is the Passo delle Erbe mountain (Würzjoch) in this group, which connects the Val Badia with the Valle Isarco.

The Luson Mountains are named after the eponymous valley which divides the mountain group into two blocks: one of them is the Plose mountain, a famous skiing and hiking area near Bressanone in the Valle Isarco valley, the other one is the high plateau of the Alpe di Rodengo pasture.

The highest mountain is the Großer Gabler with its 2,576 m a.s.l., a popular panoramic mountain near Bressanone. Other considerable mountains are the Monte Muro (2,332 m) and the Cima Lasta (2,196 m), which offers a fantastic panoramic view.

Highest peak: Großer Gabler (2,576 m a.s.l.)
Territory: South Tyrol

Suggest an edit/correction

Our editorial staff is always committed to ensuring the highest quality and accuracy of the information we publish. If you have suggestions to improve this page you can send them to us using the form below. Thank you in advance!

  1. RS rodeneck vill dahinter plose


    The bleak massif of the Plose near Bressanone in the Vale Isarco valley is a…
  2. RS luesner maurerberg

    Monte Muro

    The 2,332 m high Monte Muro is one of the important peaks of the Luson Mountains.

Suggested accommodations

Tips and more infos